Snake Plant in Bloom!!!

My Sansevieria trifasciata is in bloom! It had two stalks and they dripped with nectar before opening to reveal silk like flowers which had a jasmine like aroma! The scent was strong, it filled my sunroom. I was walking around the sunroom wondering where the heavenly smell was coming from when I noticed the odd skinny stalk protruding from the snake plant’s pot.  

The nectar is a little sticky so I did have to mop the floor, but the flowers were a great surprise, I did not know they produced flowers. Here is a picture of it. . . . .

I purchased this snake plant from Home Depot about two years ago in the clearance bin. Always check the clearance racks!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick's Garden
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 20:05:09

    I’m glad to have seen the flower. I bought three tall boisterous plants and saw I saw an old flower stalk and wondered what the flower look-ed like but the stalk was much smaller I wish I had your climate to have outside options. Best, P.

    Reply

  2. Thomas Harris
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 12:22:29

    My third visit in four days! hxxp://thescentdepot{com} please keep up the great work!

    Reply

  3. John Wright
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 12:53:23

    My third visit in four days! hxxp://thescentdepot{com} please keep up the great work!

    Reply

  4. pobept
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 22:49:48

    Wow, I have grown them on and off for many years but have yet had one to bloom for me.
    Happy Gardening

    Reply

Leave a Reply

