Trees in Containers II: Weeping Cherry Tree

Last year in the summer I started an experiment in which I placed two weeping cherry trees into their own containers for my courtyard area. Only one survived the winter. I know that the El Paso winters have gotten a bit colder and I should have been more careful about the temperature of the container plants.

Having plants grow in containers makes them more susceptible to the cold because the soil in the container reaches about the same temperature as the air. Plus wind can bring the temperature and moisture down further. Needless to say the tree that survived the winter was placed close to my front door and shielded from the wind. The tree which died was at the corner of my house and received a lot of wind whipping around the corner.

This winter I will probably move the tree into my home as the colder winter months approach. I have since replaced the weeping cherry which died with a knockout rose bush I purchased at Home Depot.

Here is a picture of my Weeping Cherry which survived. . . .

Leave a Reply

